IFDA Carolinas Chapter set to honor rising stars, luminary award at annual gala

HIGH POINT — The International Furnishings and Design Assn.’s Carolinas Chapter will honor 18 design students and this year’s Luminary Award winner at its 11th annual Night of Luminaries & Rising Stars.

The event is at 5:30 p.m., Nov. 8, at the American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame, 311 S. Hamilton St., High Point.

The Rising Star designation is given to the most outstanding senior-level design students from colleges and universities across the Carolinas. Each student will exhibit a recent project to exemplify his or her work and design philosophy at a special cocktail reception.  Afterward, the students will be presented to the industry and receive their awards and gifts.

The Luminary Award, this year going to Barbour Spangle Design, will be presented as the culmination of the evening’s festivities.

The Rising Star winners for 2023 are:

  • Lillie Bell, Appalachian State University (interior design)
  • Kristen D. Cherry, University of North Carolina-Greensboro (interior architecture)
  • Marjorie Doran, Salem College (interior design)
  • Rebekka Feiner, Meredith College (interior design)
  • Tanuvi Hegde, Savannah College of Art and Design (furniture design)
  • Go Woon (Alice) Hogan, Wake Technical Community College (interior design)
  • Ayanna Johnson, Central Piedmont Community College (interior design)
  • Emilee Johnson, Cape Fear Community College (interior design)
  • Alexia Kallaur, High Point University (interior design)
  • Anna Lee, Converse University (interior design)
  • Maggie Lockhart, Forsyth Technical Institute (interior design)
  • Hailey McIntosh, Queens University (interior design)
  • Hailey Phillips, Randolph Community College (interior design)
  • Sally Robertson, North Carolina State University (furniture design)
  • Matthew Simpkins, East Carolina University (interior design)
  • Vic Stocker, Appalachian State University (furniture design)
  • Natasha Sturdivant, Western Carolina University (interior design)
  • Jena Ann Tolley, Winthrop University (interior design)

Additionally, Penina Bernstein, a furniture design student at Rhode Island School of Design, will be recognized for winning two design scholarships this year: the 2023 Ruth Clark Furniture Design Scholarship from IFDA’s Educational Foundation and the 2023 International Society of Furniture Design’s Tom Conley Student Scholarship.

Tickets are $25 each and available online through Nov. 6. All proceeds will be donated to the Barbour Spangle Design Competition through the Bienenstock Furniture Library.

Luminary Award presenting sponsors are Century Furniture, Davis Furniture Industries, Thayer Coggin, Gefen Productions, Libby Langdon Design, the American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame, IFDA-EF and Nancy High. Industry Partners are Benjamin Moore, Hunter Douglas, European Home, The Shade Store, Theodore Alexander, HPxD, Sherrill Furniture and Shifman Mattresses.

See also:

Credit to Source link

Leave a Comment